Inside the Northwest Campus Auditorium for the Blue & Gold Ceremony

More than 100 UCLA School of Nursing students received their nursing pins at the 2024 Blue & Gold Ceremonies, events that celebrate and welcome new nurses to healthcare.

Students from both the Bachelor of Science and Master of Science – Entry programs participate in Blue & Gold, which is often also referred to as “pinning”. Students received their pins from family and friends, a way to symbolize to immense impact that a student’s support network can have on their journey to nursing.

2024 BS Cohort
2024 Bachelor of Science Cohort
MECN Cohort
2024 Master of Science – Entry Cohort

Along with receiving their pins, graduates also heard from School of Nursing leaders, including Dean Lin Zhan, Associate Dean of Student Affairs Liz Yzquierdo, and Dr. Emma Cuenca, program director of the school’s prelicensure programs. A number of Blue & Gold Awards were also handed out.

Dr. James Simmons

The keynote address was presented by Dr. James Simmons, an alumnus of the UCLA School of Nursing’s Doctor of Nursing Practice program and a highly sought-after medical expert. Along with being a Board Certified Acute Care Nurse Practitioner, healthcare provider, and a regular guest on a variety of media programs, Dr. Simmons is also the creator behind “Ask The NP” – a wide-reaching social media community that is changing the way people talk about healthcare.

“Now go, being absolutely terrified,” said Simmons. “And let that fear excite you when needed, stop you when needed, and motivate you when needed with the full knowledge and understanding that you’ve wisely chosen the absolute best profession to allow you to lead a most incredible life.”

Click here if you would like to watch the B.S. and MECN Blue & Gold Ceremonies. 

View more photos from the event. 

2024 Blue & Gold Award Winners: Voted on by students

Bachelor of Science in Nursing Program
•    Leadership Award – Juliana Rosales & Kevin Pilcher (tie)
•    Empathy Award – Sofia Lucido & Mia Meza (tie)
•    Team Player Award – Edgar Monterroso

Master of Science – Entry Program
•    Leadership Award – Gary Soloff, Danny Ramon, & Mahak Kaur (tie)
•    Empathy Award – Andrew Gruhn
•    Team Player Award – Ryan Troutman