UCLA Campus    |   UCLA Health Translate:
UCLA School of NursingNursing reimagined. Nursing redefined.

Advancement of Gerontological Nursing Sciences

Print
Email
Share

Collaborating Faculty

Linda R. Phillips, PhD, RN, FAAN (Director, AGNS)
Professor and Audrienne H Moseley Endowed Chair in Nursing
Acute and Chronic Health Sciences Section Chair

Research:  Family caregiving, nursing care of frail elders, elder abuse, cross-cultural care caregiving, end-of-life caregiving.

lrphillips@sonnet.ucla.edu

Barbara Bates-Jensen, PhD, RN, CWOCN
Associate Professor
Chair of the Faculty

Research: Pressure ulcer care (screening, prevention, assessment and management), quality of care, and implementation science in long term care.

Bbatesjensen@sonnet.ucla.edu

Lynn Doering, DNSc  
Professor, Translational Sciences

Research: Depression in cardiac patients, with a focus on the relationship of biologic and behavioral mechanisms in disease progression and treatment.

Ldoreing@sonnet.ucla.edu

Karen H. Gylys, PhD, RN
Associate Professor
f
Research: Molecular mechanisms underlying addiction processes; Alzheimer's disease pathophysiology with emphasis on biochemical factors underlying lesion formation

Kgylys@sonnet.ucla.edu

Linda Searle-Leach, PhD, Rm CNAA
Assistant Professor

Practice environment, team effectiveness, and factors that influence safety, adverse and quality outcomes.

Lleach@sonnet.ucla.edu

Dean, Courtney H. Lyder, ND, ScD(Hon), FAAN

Pressure ulcer care (prediction and prevention), elder patient safety and minority aging.

Clyder@sonnet.ucla.edu


 

Sally Malaski
Assistant Professor 

Recent studies have focused on understanding the experience of prostate cancer treatment related symptoms of low-income Latino and African-American men.  We are also investigating the impact of these symptoms on low-income Latino couples.

 

Smalaski@sonnet.ucla.edu

Janet Mentes, PhD, APRN, BC
Associate Professor

Improving the health of frail elders by focusing on acute confusion, dehydration and oral hygiene.  Pain assessment in cognitively-impaired older adults.

Jmentes@sonnet.ucla.edu

Huibrie Peters
Assistant Professor 

Dr. Pieters is a registered nurse that has worked as a hospice nurse in the community and then in acute oncology. Her dissertation in gero-oncology, was a qualitative study of how women with primary, early stage breast cancer navigated our healthcare system. The research flowed from her clinical work as an oncology nurse, her earlier work in clinical psychology, and personal experience with two close family members.

Hpieters@sonnet.ucla.edu 

Wendie Robbins, PhD
Professor

Director, Occupational and Environmental Health Nursing Program, NIOSH: Southern California, ERC  

Wrobbins@sonnet.ucla.edu

Maria Elena Ruiz, PhD, FNP
Adjunct Assistant Professor

Intergenerational solidarity and minority aging, health disparities, and cross cultural health care.

Melena@sonnet.ucla.edu

 

Sophie Sokolow, MPharm, PhD
Assistant Professor

Dr. Sokolow's research interest focuses on the understanding of the molecular mechanisms involved in the pathogenesis of Alzheimer's disease (AD).  Her studies are specifically directed towards the calcium signaling pathways involved in synaptic dysfunction.

Ssokolow@sonnet.ucla.edu

Best Nursing Schools