UCLA Campus    |   UCLA Health Translate:
UCLA School of NursingNursing reimagined. Nursing redefined.

Post-Master Certificate

Program Description

The Post Master's Program is a two-year certificate program offered by the UCLA School of Nursing. The program is designed for students who hold a MSN and would like to obtain educational and clinical experience to become a nurse practitioner, clinical nurse specialist or nurse administrator. The specialties available for Post Master's students are Primary Care Nurse Practitioner Adult/Gerontology, and Adult/Gerontology-Acute Care Nurse Practitioner or Clinical Nurse Specialist programs programs.  In addition, we offer a Pediatric Nurse Practitioner, Pediatric Clinical Nurse Specialist or Acute Care Pediatric Nurse Practitioner and a Family Nurse Practitioner Post-Master's certificate.

The Post Master's program in the School of Nursing meets the California BRN requirements for the nurse practitioner certification and clinical nurse specialist certification. After completion of the program, graduates are able to take the national certifying examination in the area of their focused specialty. The School of Nursing will submit all pertinent California BRN paperwork for certification in the area of your specialty. Post-Master's nurse practitioner students will receive didactic course work that will allow them to apply for a nurse practitioner furnishing license in the State of California

Post Master's Nursing Administration Certificate Program
Admission suspended to Nursing Adminstration Specialty for 2014-2015 academic year

Post Master Clinical Nurse Specialist or Nurse Practitioner

Adult/Gerontology Population

Adult/Gerontology Acute Care Population
Admission suspended to Oncology specialty for 2014-2015 academic year

Pediatric Population

Family Population

Core and specialty content meet California BRN requirements for nurse practitioner certification and the attainment of a furnishing number for prescriptive authority.  Graduates qualify for, and are encouraged to take, either the American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC) certifying examinations or other national specialty examinations.

Best Nursing Schools